Dog House: Gourmet Hot Dogs in Shanghai

I’ve been following all the hype about Dog House with great interest, but I’ve been wary to actually try it.  Why?  Because I had a gourmet hot dog stand in Chicago called Hot Doug’s that was THE BEST, and when they closed, it left a hot dog-shaped hole in my heart.  I vowed I would never love an encased meat ever again.

hot_dougs_logo
Miss you everyday. 😥

Then I was invited to a tasting at Dog House with the Shanghai Bite Club.  I thought to myself, “It’s time, Michelle. Hot Doug’s is gone.  FOREVER.  It’s time to move on.”  UGH! Breakups are just so hard, you know?

Mike and his Dog Pound (OK, he doesn’t call his colleagues that, but he SHOULD) have made me believe in love again.  Their inventive and creative hot dogs are delicious and fun and exciting!

My favorites are the Japanese, the Tropical, and the Chili.

The Japanese dog, with a yummy slaw made with wasabi aioli and topped with tobiko, nori and bonito flakes is a delicious flavor bomb!  Great layers of flavor & texture.  This dog is sophisticated.

IMG_6129
Japanese dog – Mike is the Jiro of hot dogs

The Tropical dog is a revelation! It will go down in history as a groundbreaking hot dog.  I absolutely LOVE the combination of sweet & savory flavors, and the refreshing salsa made of mango, kiwi, papaya and pineapple, topped with coconut aioli and toasted coconut flakes is a PERFECT foil for the hot dog’s salty, savory goodness!  Don’t forget to add a squeeze of lime – like magic in your mouth.

IMG_6139
Tropical dog – this is groundbreaking stuff, people.

After all this culinary majesty, how can the lowly Chili dog also be a favorite?  Because Mike’s housemade chili is DAMN GOOD!  Great texture, great spice level.  Then he tops it with their house-cured bacon and fried onions…oh mannn.  I need a minute alone with this hot dog.  We’re having a moment here.

IMG_6138
Nothing gets between me and my chili dog.

SFW TIP: Go with a few friends, order a bunch of different dogs (they have 13 varieties!) and share.  That way, you can try lots of different flavors!

Their blank canvas, the actual hot dog sausage and bun, are also great.  The all-beef hot dogs are made exclusively for them and are darn good on their own.  The buns are tasty too, and can stand up to all that topping without being too dense.

And did I mention the waffle fries?!  I would get ’em with chili, cheese etc on the side for dipping, as I like them crispy and they can get soggy under that blanket of delicious chili.

IMG_6134
Immerse yourself in the experience & eat straight from the bowl, just like a REAL dog!

Their house cider from Cider Republic is also awesome!  Perfectly crisp and great for washing down some dogs.

IMG_6125

Mike, the owner, is a great guy who really loves his product and wants you to love it, too! He’s got a great sense of humor and really brings passion to the business.  I love how so much of what they serve is made in-house.

Thank you, Mike and Dog House, for helping me to move on from my heartbreak. You’ve taught me how to love again. I’m forever in your debt.

Dog House has several locations within shopping malls in Shanghai:

Dog House – Xintiandi: 388 Madang Lu, SOHO Fuxing Plaza, B2, Room 06, near Fuxing Zhong Lu
马当路388号SOHO复兴广场B2楼06室,近复兴中路

Dog House – Crystal Galleria: 68 Yuyuan Lu, Crystal Galleria, B2, Room LG2-03A, near Changde Lu
愚园路68号晶品购物中心B2楼LG2-03室, 近常德路

Dog House – Joy City II: 198 Xizang Bei Lu, Joy City II, 8/F, Room 802-17, near Haining Lu
西藏北路198号大悦城北楼8楼802-17室, 近海宁路

Dog House – Lujiazui: 8 Century Avenue, IFC mall, B2, Room LG2-B10, near Yincheng Xi Lu
世纪大道8号国金中心B2楼LG2-B10号, 近银城西路

Dog House – Raffles City: 268 Xizang Zhong Lu, Raffles City, B1, Room B1-K13, near Fuzhou Lu
西藏中路268号来福士广场B1楼B1-K13室, 近福州路

Leave a comment